Honorary Awards

Horizon and Leadership Award Recipients

Former Senator John Culver (left) and Senator Tom Harkin reminisce before the Leadership Award presentation to Senator Culver.

NFL Quarterback Drew Brees with his wife Brittany, being presented with the Horizon Award by Senator David Vitter (left) and Chairman Paxton K. Baker

Olympian Dominique Dawes poses with Congressional Award Gold Medalists before the Horizon Award presentation for her work on the President's Council on Fitness.

Governor Dirk Kempthorne accepts the Leadership Award with Senator Jim Risch and Former Labor Secretary Elaine Chao presenting.

2011 Leadership Awardee Former Sen. David Pryor, Sen. Harry Reid (NV) and Sen. Mark Pryor (AR)

Horizon Awardee Debbie Dingell poses with Gold Medalist Alydaar Rangwala (center right), Congressman Paul Tonko (left) and Chairman Paxton Baker (right)

Former Senator Alan Simpson

Horizon Award Honorees, Earth, Wind and Fire with Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee and Chairman Paxton Baker (right)

Horizon Awardee and NBA All Star Dikembe Mutombo meets with Gold Medalist Zoehair Asmail of Maryland.

Senator Thad Cochran(right) presents Former Senator Bob Bennett with the Leadership Award with Board Member Dan Scherder

The Honorable Alan Simpson poses with some Gold Medalists after being recognized with the Leadership Award.

NBA All Star Patrick Ewing is recognized with the Horizon Award by Chairman Paxton Baker and Senator Mike Enzi.

From Left, Chairman Paxton Baker, Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee, Horizon Awardee Kevin Liles, Congressman Elijah Cummings and Mr. Doug E. Fresh

Horizon Awardee and PX90 Creater Tony Horton poses with Congressman Mike McIntyre

Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson (center left) presents Horizon Honorees Mrs. Pat Smith and Mr. Emmitt Smith with Chairman Paxton Baker (left)

Former Secretary Ray LaHood is presented with the Leadership Award by (from left): Chairman Bill Shuster (PA09), Former Speaker of the House Dennis Hastert, Gold Medalist Graham Novak, Silver Medalist Noah Flynn, Hon. Rodney Davis (IL13), Hon. Danny Davis (IL07), Board Member and Former Secretary of Transportation, Rodney Slater and Hon. Tammy Duckworth (IL08).

Horizon Award Honoree Dwayne Johnson with Gold Medalist Allante Nelson

Past Wallop Howard Leadership Awardees (public sector)
The Wallop Howard Leadership Award is presented to individuals who have displayed outstanding commitment to improving the lives of our nation’s young people and providing critical support in The Congressional Award Foundation’s efforts to make The Congressional Award a national opportunity. The Award is presented by The Congressional Award Joint Leadership Commission – comprised of The Speaker and Minority Leader of the House and Majority and Minority Leaders of the Senate.

1994 | President & Mrs. Jimmy Carter, Senator Malcolm Wallop, Congressman James Howard

1995 | The Honorable John Glenn, Congressman Tom Bliley

1996 | His Royal Highness Prince Phillip, Senator Mark Hatfield

1997 | Senator Bob Dole, Congressman Esteban Torres

1998 | Senator Robert Byrd, Congressman Dan Schaefer

1999 | Secretary of State Colin Powell, Judith McHale

2000 | First Lady Nancy Reagan, Congressman Charles Rangel

2001 | Congressman Donald Payne

2002 | Congressman Major Owens

2003 | Congressional Award Chairman Thomas Campbell

2006 | Congressman Ed Pastor

2007 | Senator Mike Enzi, Congressman Rush Holt

2008 | Senator and Mrs. Trent Lott, First Lady Laura Bush

2009 | Congressman Chris Shays

2010 | Senator John Culver

2011 | Governor Dirk Kempthorne, Senator David Pryor

2012 | Senator Bob Bennett

2013 | Senator Alan Simpson, Dr. Francis Collins

2014 | Hon. Ray LaHood

2015 | Hon. John Dingell, Hon. Phil Gramm, Secretary Ron Kirk

2016 | Secretary William Coleman, Jr., Secretary Norman Mineta

Past Horizon Awardees (private sector)
The Horizon Award is a special recognition from the Joint Leadership Commission of The Congressional Award Foundation and its Board of Directors. The Horizon Award is presented to individuals from the private sectors who have contributed to expanding opportunities for all Americans through their own personal contributions, and who have set exceptional examples for young people through their successes in life. These recipients have truly forged ahead, establishing noble horizons to which our youth can aspire.

1997 | Jimmy Smits, Tom Selleck

1998 | Leeza Gibbons, David Frost, Grant Hill

1999 | Mariah Carey, Judith Hale

2000 | Bob Lanier

2001 | Esai Morales

2002 | Arnold Schwarzenegger, Wynton Marsalis, Jerry Blavat

2003 | Art Monk, Charles Mann

2007 | Lauren Nelson, Miss America 2007

2008 | Drew Brees, Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson

2009 | Nick Cannon, Jimmie Lee Solomon

2010 | Michael Oher

2011 | Dominique Dawes

2012 | Dikembe Mutombo, Debbie Dingell

2013 | Patrick Ewing, Tony Horton

2014 | Emmitt & Pat Smith, Kevin Liles

2015 | Steve Pemberton

2016 | America Ferrera, Cal Ripken, Jr.